Kitui County Map

Overview of Kitui County

Kitui County is located 170Km to the South East of Nairobi City. It covers an area of about 30,496 km2. It borders Machakos and Makueni Counties to the West, Tana River County to the East, Taita-Taveta County to the South, and Embu and Tharaka- Nithi Counties to the North. it is about two and half hours’ drive from Nairobi and 30 minutes flight by a chopper.

Population: 1,147,200

Female: 602,002

Male: 545,195

Growth Rate: 2.1%

The Kitui Vision for Economic and Social Transformation

Following its mandate as a County, The County Government of Kitui developed this long-term development blue print, “Kitui Vision for economic and social transformation” aimed at guiding its economic and social development for the next ten years up to the year 2025. The envisaged County long-term development blue print covers the economic and investment zones which were endorsed by stakeholders in November 2013. These economic and investment zones include:

i) Kyuso-Mumoni-Tseikuru Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
ii) Mui Basin Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
iii) Mwingi Town and Environs Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
iv) Kitui County Headquarters and Environs Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
v) Kanyangi-Kwa Vonza-Kanyonyoo Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)
vi) Mutomo-Ikutha-Kanziko Economic and Investment Zone (EIZ)

Overview of Kitui County Sub-Counties, Wards and Villages

Click here to download the Kitui County Villages Bill, 2014

Events Calendar

October 2019
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
Go to top